Complete Newbie - XVS 125 question

christofeser
This post is 5101 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi there,

I'm completely new to the forum so HI!

I'm also completely new to motorcycles, so hi again!

It's also my first ever vehicle, which I'm really excited about.

Anyway I'll stop rambling and explain. Yesterday I bought a Yamaha XVS125 Dragstar (2002) from ebay. I got it at around £1,000 in the end - which I didn't think was too bad. When looking at it though, he did detail some minor problems which I "could resolve with ease" - probably - if I knew a little bit about Yamaha's, let alone bikes!

So there are two main problems, which are only minor.

Firstly, the battery casing on the right hand side (the side with the lock), is actually missing the lock and therefore is not secure underneath the saddle. Does anyone know where I can get this lock from, and how easy it is to install??

Secondly, the exhaust. There is a main exhaust pipe coming from the engine (the upper one) and a chrome cover over the top of the pipe, usually attached with one of those round clips (sometimes found in plumbing). Problem is, the round clip has snapped due to rust on it. Will I have to buy a new one and weld it onto the inside of the chrome? Or is there an easier way of doing this?

Any help is appreciated. I'm only a novice and rather un-savvy when it comes to motorbike. I really want to learn a little - which is why I'm here :)

Cheers

Chris

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Welcome to biking and to the forum Chris. :D

Not familiar with the baby drag so I will generalise a little.