TZR50 won't start on electric starter

Caussados
This post is 5075 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi, hope someone can help.

Just bought a 2004 TZR50 for my son and it refuses to start on the electric starter, but will bump start instantly. Fitted new plug, cleaned carb. Fuel and spark are present when trying to electric start, but it just refuses to fire. I'm no expert on 2 strokes, but thought it maybe a lack of speed from the starter, so to eliminate poor battery tried operating starter using jump leads from car battery straight to the starter but still no joy.

If I do a compression test what pressure should I see?

Any ideas on a cure?

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

You could have something like clutch drag or the like, putting extra weight on the engine, worth checking things like that out.

Does sound like the starter is not spining fast enough for fire-up.

Dont know what the compression should be !

You could have something like clutch drag or the like, putting extra weight on the engine, worth checking things like that out.

Thanks 2 wheels, hadn't thought of clutch drag, not sure how i'll check it. Do you know what type of inlet valve this engine uses? Is it a rotary or reed type? As I said 2 strokes are not my forté and i'm just starting to find out about them. Thought are that it could be a leaking reed valve. The bike had not been used for around 1 year prior to our purchase.

Thanks 2 wheels, hadn't thought of clutch drag, not sure how i'll check it. Do you know what type of inlet valve this engine uses? Is it a rotary or reed type? As I said 2 strokes are not my forté and i'm just starting to find out about them. Thought are that it could be a leaking reed valve. The bike had not been used for around 1 year prior to our purchase.