Please recommend an open-face or flip up visor helmet...

ddlooping
This post is 4408 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi all :)

I'm new to biking and need to buy all the gear.

First on the list is a helmet. :ph34r:

I'm leaning towards an open-face one as it seems to be the best compromise in terms of protection and look for my XVS125.

Unless you know of a full-face that wouldn't look out of place while riding this bike I'd appreciate if you could recommend one with good side protection, that looks cool and doesn't break the bank.

Thanks in advance. ;)

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.
  • Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have both full face and open face helmets which I wear depending on how cold it is. But as we're nearly in spring you can start with an open face one. Have a look here:

http://www.ghostbikes.com/categorylist/Helmets-Open-Face-Helmets/

I don't see the point of an o/f helmet being too expensive (say above £50)

Ride safe.

NITRO X550-JV, between £50 to £70, the clear main visor fits close to the helmet so less wind noise, good ventilation, integral tinted flip down visor.

Mine just stopped me having a head injury when someone knocked me off the Dragstar 3 weeks ago, hit the deck back of the head first.

Good entry level lid

how much do you value your head?

not very much? then buy an open face helmet.

very much? then protect it with the best you can afford? i.e. a full faced helmet.

Not long gone from a Duchinni to a caberg V2rr. The Caberg is nice, not as noisey as the Duch, the flip down visor is handy too. Good sharp rating and not fogged up in me much. look at your budget as there's loads of choice.

Apparently the Caberg Konda is noisy , i have recently got one of the last Caberg Trips from northern Ireland , also have had some J1,s but they are NLA now