my bike only goes 60MPH

nonameowen
This post is 3869 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hello guys, im new to this form so if you havent seen my post in the newbie section i would just like to say hi :D

I have a bit of a question really:

just got a yamaha xvs 125 and it only goes 60mph. I have looked on the internet and there's people saying they can go about 65-70 how can i get this? is there a way to accelerate and go through the gears that will make it go faster? could it be the fule? if i use the expensive stuff will it go faster? could it be my spedo? you get spedo apps that will tell you the speed should i try this?

If any one has any ideas will be greatly appreciated :D thanks guys ride safe.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hey there, top speed on a 125 is so subjective. 60 is good.

I got my old 125 up to an indicated 75 once but I had a good breeze pushing me along. Generally my YBR was comfortable at 55, but I could get it up to 65 no problem. Remember:

- your weight and height WILL affect a small CC bike, so take that into consideration.

- some people stretch the truth about their top speeds, don't know why, but they just do.

- others may have removed some unnecessary weight or done some other mods to their bike.

- when you're trying to go as fast as possible, are you tucking down and into the bike like others may be doing? Remember, elbows in will help too!

Regarding fuel, very much open to debate there. I ended up putting Esso premium fuel in my YBR and noticed a difference. However I don't notice any difference in my car or Tiger, so can't really comment.

• Like 1

Some ways you can go faster.

1 Have a shit! even turds have weight

2 take everything out of your pockets, lighter packet of fags and any loose change.

3 cut your hair, top and bottom.