Feeling rather chuffed

bippo
This post is 4229 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

My new bike is now officially run-in and serviced, so today I braved my first trip into work. The reason I hadn't done it sooner is because:

A. I live in Glossop, and work in Leeds. So for those of you who don't know, that's a 50 mile one-way trip when I drive on the motorway and a 38 mile trip on back roads with my CBT and a 125. A total of 100 or 72 mile round trip, depending

B. It's a hilly ride so with a 125, revving can't be avoided and I didn't want to over-rev a new bike

C. It's taken a while to save up and buy clothing suitable for a cold ride over the Pennines in the morning

D. I'm new to riding, so I've been focussing on building up my confidence on two wheels

E. I'm not originally a 'Northerner' so I didnt know the roads or route. You get shockingly used to using motorways, you don't realise how little you know of an area until you are forced to use minor roads without sat nav!

But overall it went well! The only downside was the fact that the bikes headlight is terrible and doesn't actually light anything when riding down a road with no light pollution or street lights. But then again, what else is the full beam for?! That did an adequate job. I'm not complaining, I appreciate the YBR is a cheap 125 aimed at the city-riding market as opposed to A-road, B-road and country lane riding.

So today was the day! Even with the rain, darkness, coldness and mental memory of junctions I really enjoyed myself! The last thing I want is to be a "fair-weather rider" so I plan on doing the same trip tomorrow and as much as I can until the weather really turns bad. Even though I work in Leeds city centre, I get to park my bike for free in our underground car park, complete with military-wannabe security guards which is far better than the daily parking charge I had to stump up with the car.