1976 DT175C

Sacha
This post is 3433 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Well, here goes... my first rebuild project. She's in a sad state as illustrated by the photos. I've had this bike over ten years, and (with the help of my dad) had taken the engine off the frame to fix the clutch because it was seized... plus I took the head off (don't remember why as I've slept since then, but it does look like there's some scoring on the piston). That was a long time ago and as you can see it's still in pieces... so I'm now picking up where I left off. I'm a complete newbie bike mechanic, but I figure what better way to get to know my bike? Hopefully you all don't mind me pestering you for help along the way since my pops can't help me because I don't live with him anymore (and he's got enough of his own sh*t to do). :P

dt175_01.jpg

dt175_02.jpg

dt175_03.jpg

(I do have the tail pipe too just didn't make it into the photo)

Today's progress:

removed the front tire; attempted to remove the rear tire, but unfortunately the rear axle is stuck something fierce. I can't seem to loosen up the wheel alignment on the right side. (gir) I've soaked it with WD40 so we'll see what happens tomorrow.

dt175_04.jpg

I'm going to enlist the hubby's help tomorrow to see if I can get that and then strip the wiring and the rest of the frame so I can get it ready to repaint. Luckily I know a guy who's going to re-foam and re-upholster the seat because the ones I've found (with Nayruf's help) are stinking expensive. :D

Not sure how long this project will take as I'm just going to be able to do bits when I find time, but I'll keep you posted.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Nice one Sacha what a great little bike thay are.