Is this a fair quote?

ddlooping
This post is 4383 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi all :)

Even though I passed my car driving license almost 30 years ago I'm totally new to motorcycling (should pass my CBT in a couple of weeks).

I've been shopping for an insurance for my XVS 125 and got the following quote from Devitt/Aviva:

Premium (inclusive of Insurance Premium Tax where applicable): £186.88

Insurer: Aviva

Accidental Damage excess: £100

Free minimum period of Foreign Travel per trip (what does that mean?): 90 days

Riding other Motorcycles: Yes

Optional Legal Expenses (underwritten by Ageas): included

Optional Personal Accident (underwritten by Groupama): included

Optional RAC Breakdown cover (UK Roadside): included

Level of cover required: comprehensive

Voluntary Accidental Damage excess: none

Protected NCD: no

Please let me know what you think of it. ;)

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

I have had my full bike licence for over 30 years, and pay around £75 for my 650 Dragstar, so as you are new to biking and that includes breakdown insurance it doesn't seem to bad.

I'm 32, have 5 years NCB, ride approx 10,000 miles a year on a 650 Drag, including commuting, have every imaginable fully comp added extra, breakdown, uninsured loss, separate lid & leathers, several types of security, garaged, etc etc, yadda yadda...

£200.

So for what you've been quoted, I'd say that's pretty damn decent!

iv just got a provisional but 6 years under my belt doing 10,000 miles a year, dont see the point in fully comp so i went with third party fire and theft .....my quote is £80 this year with £100 excess, thats with all the modifications declared and an agreed value of £1500 plus legal cover. oh and im only 24.

Both my bikes are on the same agreed value mileage specific, classic policy for 130quid