'79 DT175MX.... Let the fun begin!!

Ventura
This post is 3953 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Not sure how this will all pan out, nor how long it will take, but let this be the start of my latest little project.

Im a newbie round here but Ive been lurking for a while and learning lots from the very knowledgeable guys on the forum here.

Undoubtedly I'll be calling for advice on the hows, why's and wherefores as this proceeds, so let me thank you all well in advance!! :)

So, the story begins............

As I mentioned in my intro I bought my first DT in 1979, brought it home in the crate and built it up myself.

I kept that bike for a total of 26 years before regrettably part-ex'ing it for something which has long since been and gone!

We learn by our mistakes!

Anyway, after a while searching I brought this little baby home a few days ago..................

(sorry about pic quality. Bad light and iPhone!! I promise to improve!)

IMG_0979.jpg

IMG_0971.jpg

A fairly tidy, all original (Im assured!) 1979 DT175MX. One previous owner and nothing much bent, dented or broken.

My plan was to buy a bike and totally strip it down to restore it to its former '70's glory.

(Something I wish I could do to myself too!! :) )

So, after giving it a few laps round the block to make sure it was a good runner, it was into the shed and on the ramp.

A few hours later, and after owning the bike for less than one day, this is the story...................

IMG_1029.jpg

IMG_1027.jpg

IMG_1030.jpg

And yes, I do need a bigger shed!!

As can be seen its all in bits now.

No major issues found so far. The exhaust will need replacing as its been attacked to many times with a welding rod at the lower bend, the steering head bearings were goosed (and all the balls fell on the floor anyway!) and I had to cut off the chain tensioner as it had seized on the spindle/pivot bolt and no way would it come off.