6v to 12v step-up transformer?

wild foamy
This post is 5633 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

hi there all.

im looking to build a simple 6VDC to 12VDC step-up transformer for using things like phone chargers and camera chargers from the 6v supply on my bike.

i know i wont get high outputs but i am looking to get something like 400mah out of it.

i have basic knowledge in electrical engineering but i need a bit of help drawing up a schematic diagram.

anyone have any ideas?

regards

Steve

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

hi there all.

im looking to build a simple 6VDC to 12VDC step-up transformer for using things like phone chargers and camera chargers from the 6v supply on my bike.

i know i wont get high outputs but i am looking to get something like 400mah out of it.

i have basic knowledge in electrical engineering but i need a bit of help drawing up a schematic diagram.

anyone have any ideas?

regards

Steve

You cant do it with a transformer as such, what you will have to do is use another rectifier diode and a 12v regulator connected in parallel to your existing 6v units

okay, any idea how that would look as a schematic?.

would the 12v regulator work if the input voltage was less than its output?

not sure where the rectifier would come in though, was planning to wire it straight onto the battery (which although is not very big, is constantly being fed by the mag) then using an isolator switch to cut the 12v feed when the engine is static. so wouldnt the battery be providing a DC voltage?

Sounds like disposable batteries for the camera and payphones are going to be the way to go.

oh, so it can't be done? :(