Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Baker

  • Birthday 09/18/1994

Previous Fields

  • Current Bike(s)
    (Hopefully soon to be) Yamaha Dragstar XVS 125cc

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
    East Sussex
  • Interests
    Motorbikes, Mountainbiking, Road biking, Trials biking, Guitar, Computing, Mechanics, Audio electronics

Baker's Achievements


Newbie (1/14)



  1. Hello there! My name is Harry, I'm 16 and live in East Sussex. I've been interested in motorbikes for a while, and am rebuilding some engines with my Dad. I'm pretty confident on a bike although I don't actually OWN a Yamaha yet, but hold your horses. I turn 17 on the 18th of September, and am looking at investing in a Yamaha Dragstar XVS 125. I've done extensive research on the Dragstar, and have found it tops out at 60MPH-70MPH, I’ve also heard that it's a very reliable bike and has a good economy. I love the fact that it's a V-Twin, the bike also engineered with heart, and looks and sounds fantastic! There's just a few things I could do with an array of opinions on.. So I will be using the bike to commute no further than 30 or 40 miles from my house, as I'm only 16 and don't need to travel far. I'll be going to college in September which is 5 or 6 miles north of me, so the bike would be handy for that. I wouldn't be taking the bike on many A roads, and even less, motorways. The only thing that strikes me as a potential problem is the top speed of the bike, which is a little low for a 125. It is a cruiser I know, and is heavy, but I'm not quite sure what to focus on, looks/comfort + reliability or Speed? I'm not sure if I’d need to go much faster than 60 but it'd be nice to be able to open it out and go that quick when needs be. Anyways this is a bit of an essay for my first post! Thanks alot, The forum looks great and I look forward to being more involved in it! Regards, Harry.
  • Create New...