steering issue

jrhendryx
This post is 5892 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

ok, so heres the deal...

replaced the oil seals on the forks yesterday, and when i emptied them, a total of maybe 50cc's came out of both of them together (specs call for 147cc's per fork)...

after double checking that everything was tightened back up as it should be from the spindle up, i noticed that at speeds below 20 mph, if i take my hands off the bars and just let it coast, the bike wants to roll to either side in a slow swerve.

it will roll left first usually and then correct and come back to the right in a weaving pattern as though i were slaloming around cones.

i didnt mess with anything that should have affected the tightness of the head races (i dont think i did anyway, im relatively new to this), which is what my manual says could cause this problem...

any ideas?

at speeds above 20mph it isnt noticeable, and will ride straight without hands on, and it doesnt pull hard enough to feel it at low speeds with hands on, though it does feel a bit..... not mushy, but almost like the tires are coated in oil when making tight turns at low speeds (like a u-turn)....

im just trying to figure out if this is normal and im not used to how the machine would behave with the proper amount of oil in the front forks, or if i managed to screw something up.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

check tyre pressures, steering bearings for notchiness, check they are not loose by rocking bottom of forks fore and aft. (nautical, but nice), wheel alignment with the rear wheel, check front wheel runout, check brake caliper is not sticking.

let us know how you get on please, for other forum users

drewpy