New guy here with a 1982 Yamaha XS1100

Joe46738
This post is 1173 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi, Im Joe, I have always wanted to ride but just never made it a priority to ride. I have been an auto and truck mechanic for years. I thought I would have the time to restore this bike and honestly have had the time but ever since I learned how fast it would go, Im thinking its probably not a bike I should start out on. 

So, on to the bike, I really would like to learn more about it. Its a 1982 Yamaha XS1100. I can find info on 1981 Yamaha XS1100 but not much out there on this one. I know it needs carbs but im not motivated enough to spend the $800 on carbs then its been sitting for years, license plate says 2012. I got it from my uncle who ended up with it when a buddy of his passed away. His buddy claimed that he had done internal engine work and had it up to 145 to 150 but it was a scary ride. I rebuilt the carbs and went with jets that were 6 thousands larger because I read that these bikes had issues vapor locking with the original jets. I also hate the air box so I put aftermarket cone filters. I fear that this bike would just be way too fast for a first bike.  

What do you think, any thoughts on this bike? I really cant find any info on a 1982 XS1100. Please educate me

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

I owned a 79 xs1100 and I would suggest the 145/150 was a fanciful idea. Even if it was tuned to that, the frame would never stand with it's virtual hinged centre.

That aside, I loved my bike and still mildly regret getting rid.

Never had any engine or carb issues and the only problem was a coil failure 300 miles from home. Still got me there tho

Welcome in Joe,   they did poddy racing in the late 1970"s  aye winners too, looked like a supertanker to ride tho,,   see on You-tube,,