YBR 125 strange noise on open throttle

JohnnyBoy83
This post is 3726 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi all. I'm a bit of a biking newbie (read: total newbie) so not even sure if this is anything to worry about...

I've noticed a strange noise when I open up my throttle. It's starts off fairly quiet, and gets louder as the bike warms up. It's hard to describe, but the best way I could manage is that it's a rhythmic ticking/clicking sound. It speeds up a bit as I open the throttle fully, and cuts off completely the second I let go.

I can't seem to replicate the noise when the bike is standing, but when I'm moving it's that loud I can hear it with my visor closed & in traffic.

Bike seems to pull just fine, no issues with performance at all, just this bloody noise!

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Might have over-tightened your chain? I did that once by accident on my YBR and the result was a ticking noise when moving.

Just to clarify.

You dont get the noise when stationary with the engine running and rev'ing.

You dont get the noise when moving and decelerating.

You get the noise when the bike engine is under load.

Does the noise go when you accelerate and then pull in the clutch? (So you are still gaining speed)

Does the noise match the engine revs or the speed? (If you travel at 30 mph in 3rd and then keep the speed at 30 but change into 4th, does the sound slow)

I wouldn't dismiss the chain just yet.

That sounds like a stiff link on the chain to me.

You may find a pair of links which are rusted together, coasting (I assume you mean clutch in) disengages the chain.

As the two chain links are seized they don't sit inside the teeth of the sprocket and 'ride' higher and clunk as they come off the sprocket. The faster you go the clicking gets more rapid.