DTR 125, problems

Taffman92
This post is 4005 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

hi, ive had the DTR for about 3 weeks now and there's a couple of little things ive noticed and am not to sure about as Im a carpenter not a mechanic lol, firstly the exhaust manifold, I was riding home one day and noticed a rattling noise coming from the exhaust, when I got home I took a look and noticed where it bolts on to the engine it was loose and moving slightly when the engine is running causing the rattling noise so I tightened it up, however!! when I took it out to see if it fixed the noise ( it did! ) the bike started losing power and just started dying, took it home loosened it back off and it was fine again, but it rattles all the time when im riding, any idea's on this ???

second thing is the bike once its warmed up will start to revv up on its own up to 3500 revvs and if I lift the choke up it starts to idle lovely, but as soon as the choke is down up the revvs go, gets a little annoying when I'm at a junction and it sounds like I'm holding the throtle open a bit, I havent got a clue with this ??

third problem I've found is that the speedo is not working ( not sure if the PO disconnected it to save milage ), how do I check to see why its not working??

P.S , not sure if this helps but the guy who sold it to me told me its been derestricted,

now like I said up top , I'm no mechanic but I'm not a complete idiot with tools, if anybody can help with any of these problems It would be most appreciated, but try and explain in layman's terms lol

Thanks, Taffman92

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi there

To adjust idle rpm there should be a thumb screw turn it out anticlockwise slow until desired rpm reached!