1970 AT1-B

dave62
This post is 3767 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

So here is my AT1, bought as a non running import from a local restoration business.

Story goes that it was only used to drive a mile up a track to the mail box and back again each day so never got registerd in the US for road use hence no title but it did have the C & E 386 to say all UK import duties paid.

Plan is to get it registered on an age related number but as I've never done this before I'm learning as I go. As far as I know I will need:

1, dating letter (yamaha owners or vjmc)

2, mot (on frame number)

3, insurance (on frame number)

4, dvla form v55

5, fee

6, tax disc

While waiting for the dating letter to come back I've got to get it ready for an mot. First job was to get the engine started, cleaned out the tank with some old nuts and thinners plus lots of shaking and stripped the carb down nothing too major in there apart from the float bowl is perforated in several places, bodged this for now with some JB weld but will need to sorce a replacment at sometime, Anyone?

Fitted a new set of points and pressed the starter....nothing! turns out the generator brushes are worn out so made up some replacements and....still nothing! good job its got a kick start so I give it a couple of prods and find that its to got issues as well, it does not always engage so reverted to bump starting and it finally splutterd into life and then it ate its crank seals! Got two replacments and they were thankfully easy to change. Starts dead easy now even with the faulty kick start.

Next on the list was new tyres. Had problems finding knobleys in the correct sizes (18 X 3.50 & 18 X 3.00) so opted for a pair of cheng shin road tyres for now. Sorted out a couple of blown bulbs ect and replaced the brake shoes front and rear.

So apart from a few minor adjustments I think its ready for the mot.