Yamaha DT125RE restoration derestriction catastrophe!

Consmos
This post is 3296 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hello Everybody :hyper:

First time posting anything so bear with me, but I can't think of a better place to start - I need to

crowd-source some wisdom, and hopefully lots of help :shakeno:

Long story short - I have no experience whatsoever in fixing bikes. Or maintaining them. I've never even

changed the oil in my car. But after I finally got round to getting my bike license (after a number of

unfortunate setbacks) I decided to whip the dust sheet off my pristene DT 125 RE. It may be eight years

old, but it only had 4000 miles on the clock and was in brilliant nick.

So I thought. Turned out a friend of the family had 'borrowed' the bike as part of some half-hearted

crisis and wanted to learn to ride. This, he did not. He took it for a couple of spins and left it to

rot in the sun and the rain outside his house for months. I hadn't even known it was gone.

So imagine my horror when I saw this:

20120616_155810_zpsbb15dea1.jpg

20120616_155939_zps75897822.jpg

The photos don't do it justice, but in brief: A mirror missing, the other so badly corroded that it

was hanging off. Indicator torn off. A large hole in the left side of the seat. All the pastics were had

faded and warped from exposure. The wheels were orange with rust. Rust eaten through the paint

and into the frame, joints, radiator, tank. Gearbox oil seal rotted and oil was leaking out. Crankcase

badly scored. And so on... I don't even know how he managed to be so careless with such little use,

and he didn't offer to fix it.

Determined to bring it back to life, I decided to throw myself in the deep end and learn by doing!

One Haynes manual, a load of new plastics, nuts, bolts, mirrors, indicators, clutch levers, elbow