Complete Newbie - Got my first bike today. Need some help.

thomasrolewis
This post is 4544 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Posted this in the New Members forum but re-posted it here as I was advised too!

Hey Guys

Names Tom, got my first ever motorbike today! I wanted something to run around in once I finish my degree. I managed to find an SR125 1993 for £350. Needs some work doing on it such as the front lights. I went to see the bike last Sunday and the guy started it up for me ran fine and everything. However, when it's put into gear it cuts out - he said it was because the electrics are not properly connected (made sense to me BUT is this true?).

So anyway, got it home today and it didn't start. It's pretty cold so I thought it could be because I wasn't using the choke. So, I pulled the choke out (and held it as it snaps back on the SR125) ignition on and pressed the starter with a few revs. Nothing. I really don't know much, but I saw that the neutral flashing a bit and it sounded like the battery might be on the flat side - in fact, I'm pretty sure it is as it's struggling to turn over at the moment. Would this cause the spark plug not to spark? And thus, not allow the engine to start?

From what people have said and I've gathered I need to charge the battery and change the fuel. Once I've done that I might be in a better position to troubleshoot.

I'm more concerned about the cutting out when put into gear. I hope I haven't been ripped off.

Edited by drewpy

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

do you have the side stand out when you put it in gear? check the connections and clean if needed then try again. iv got no experience with your model but all side stand switches cut the engine when it gets put into gear (with the stand out).