07 DT125X Splutters

eggsandbacon
This post is 4636 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi there, I'm wondering if anyone can help me try to diagnose the issues I'm having with my DT.

First let me start by saying I have very little knowledge with engines in general so I may end up just taking this to someone who knows what they are doing.

I bought it last year but have only started riding it recently. It came with a full dep fitted, the rev limiter earthed and the snorkel removed from the airbox. These are the only visible changes and I'm unsure of if he/she has messed with the reeds, ypvs or carb.

Anyway my problem is the bike isn't running smoothly at all.

1st minor issue:

Cold start(not that it's exactly cold at this time of year): It starts no problems with the choke, if I try to turn the choke off instantly it bogs and stalls but if I leave it for a min then it's fine however it sometimes "sticks" revving quite high which is "reset" if I gently blip the throttle.

2nd more severe issue:

The bike does not like being riden gently at all, it won't maintain a constant rev - spluttering like mad, but once it's opened up it's smooth as butter until I back off and the splutters return.

3rd annoying issue:

When coming back onto the throttle at low revs there is a quite noticable jump.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Sounds like your power valve is pinned open which is why its horrible to ride at low rpm, be worth checking. (covers both issues 2 and 3)

Starting from cold may just need to get used to as i recall mine used to be a bit of a pain at times and is a bit of a nak to it so dont worry too much, i found it idled okay when i took the choke of once it started to noticeably gain revs, sometimes caused a bit of excess smoke though which is not to worry.