1978 yz80

rockout12001
This post is 5421 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

newbie here. just want to thank everyone in advance. i am new to the vintage bike restoration and was looking for some advice. . after spending hours on the playstation everyday having absolutely no interest in anything in the garage, i brought it upon myself to buy 4 "vintage" dirtbikes/enduros to try and restore together. the first is a 1975 yamaha dt100. picked her up for $75 and spent about an hour to get her running. runs great, starts with one kick, but needs a clutch. this bike is too big for him so i found a 1978 yz80. my real question is what is this thing worth? anything at all? tried and tried to research history. all i found is it is the first year for the mono shock and thats about it. read that is a great beginner bike and that is what i am looking for. i came across 2 1974 gt80's too. can anyone steer me in the right direction. should i rob from the gt to make the yz better, or try to restore them both? like i said at the beginning, thanks in advance. i am a member of a chopper forum and have received some great help from others. some good advice and maybe some good parts sites or sites with some good pics to compare and see what all is missing would be great too.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

i guess not. no one has anything to say so i will junk them out.

:welcome: to the forum

Nice collection of Vintage Dirtbikes you've got there RockOut ;)

This site has been great for sourcing parts for my XT.......MOTOGRID

Generally, their parts go for @ least 1/3 less than any dealer (including shipping to your door ;) )

Best part is the exploded views like a microphiche......helps alot seeing what you're after.

Definitely get the YZ running!.....You'll be glad you did. :thumb:

i guess not. no one has anything to say so i will junk them out.