XVS 125 timing/chain issues

Carolina Spur
This post is 1322 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hello guys, I have a XVS 125 thaty I'm trying to get cranked up after sitting 3 years with a bent valve.

I replaced the valves and lapped the new ones in and put the head on. I have an original Service manual the previous owner gave me which as per usual seems a bit misleading to the unlearned. I am a certified car mechanic but metric bikes are new to me so I'm rookie in a way.

My problem is that the "T" and "I" timing marks are not exactly TDC but the 3rd "timing mark" that is a line just so happens to be TDC for the rear cylinder. Although I will admit I got this totally wrong and timed the beast to the stroke of TDC. Now that I have found my error and after many spins of almost cranking as long as you hold the starter button down... I am trying to get the cam chain to stay on after installing the gear and tensioner... It's doing my head in.. Is there a way to make sure the chain is in the bottom teeth before turning it over? It keeps trying to roll of like a bicycle chain out of alignment.

And to clarify I have taken the carburetor apart and cleaned it, checked the joint for cracks, I made sure the accelerator pump was spraying and the fuel was filling the bowl and what not.

While I was spinning her over I checked the spark plugs to see what colour the spark was and it was red. So I figured the voltage regulator was breaking down and/or the coils so I replaced them just to be sure.

WP_20150120_002_zpse1a64305.jpg

WP_20150127_001_zps3a371d57.jpg

WP_20150117_002_zpsff08146e.jpg

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.