New bike - sore hips

dandmr1
This post is 3840 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hey all, have just in the last few days upgraded from a ybr125 to an xj6n and although I'm totally loving it, I'm finding my hips ache and on occasion feel like they are gonna pop out of joint. One guy I work with (also a biker) says it's probs just a settling in thing. And come to think about it had similar issues when I started riding the 125. Any suggestions? man up!, give it time, bulk up you skinny git, Maybe a riding position issue?

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hey there - hope you're enjoying your new bike (minus the sore hips!)

I got my full licence on a Kawasaki ER-6n, and that was quite some adjustment from the YBR. I found that my ankles suffered from the footpeg positioning. Having broken both my ankle and knee on my left leg, it was pretty tough in all honestly.

Bear in mind that the YBR is a very 'neutral' position. A position that is very natural to us all. So any bike that differs will be an adjustment. It's just like sitting in a chair at the end of the day isn't it!

Needless to say, I ended up buying a Triumph Tiger once I passed because leg positioning was just like the YBR!!

When I owned a classic Mini, the seat wouldn't go back far enough for my height (even with with a seat adjustment extender) but I persevered and it became not only the most entertaining, but one of the most comfortable cars I'd driven.

As a result, I'd say stick it out, your body will adjust. My arms did to the wide and far away handlebars of the Tiger. Of course, this is assuming you haven't racked up miles on the XJ already...!

I now have 4000 miles on my Tiger, and so far I've only messed about with the handlebars. Everything else my body is now adjusted to.