1976 DT-80 Kickstart problem/Rollstart problem

76DT80
This post is 4131 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

I have a 1976 Yamaha DT-80 with 280 miles on it in near mint condition, but there seems to be a problem with the kickstart or engine, not sure. I am new to bikes and got this bike off my mom, and was just wondering if there was some steps I could take to diagnose it. It actually ROLL STARTS just fine.

hulV7bj.jpg

WNVRnkj.jpg

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi, When you say it roll starts I suppose you mean that if you bung it in 2nd gear and roll it along & let the clutch out it fires up and runs ok? If the kick start has a problem it could be anything really as your not describing your problem very well, I know your new to bikes so what does it actually do? Does the kick start actually turn the engine over? or does it just go straight down with out turning the engine over or does it jam in place, the mechanism for the kick start is quite simple really just a cog on the shaft usually with a spring to return it to an upright position, if either of these is broken or damaged then the simple answer is to replace one or both of them, unless the shaft is damaged which is a much more complicated procedure but doable if you have the right tools. SO try to describe EXACTLY what the kick start does and someone will no doubt be able to tell you what the problem is and how to fix it. :jossun:

Please do an "INTRO" New members section so folks get to know you, we are strangers to you same as you are to us, it's polite to say Hi before you launch into questions on how to fix your bike.

PS That is a lovely little bike by the way, keep it looking like that and you will be the envy of your friends. :jossun: