useing the clutch .

kearnsy123
This post is 4182 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

This mite sound like a silly question but when driving my bike everytime i change gear the bike jolts . Or jerks i can never seem to get a sooth gear change . Now ots not the bike as it always happens on other bikes to . Now am i releaseing it two fast or two slow and will it cause any damage to the bike . I just two ised to motorcrossing bad habbits etc .any advice would b great thanks

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

I never use the clutch going up the box, only to draw away ,,, smooth clean shifts,,,, Moto xer"s never use the clutch,,,

I'm really not an expert in this area, but from my own experience when i jumped on a bike for the first time:

- it could happen if you're releasing the clutch really fast

- jumping on the throttle hard when you're still releasing the clutch

I hate shoddy gear changes in cars, so once I picked up my bike I spent some time really practising and getting to know the bike so my changes were smooth.

If you think it's down to technique, I'd suggest some conscious practising - experimenting with how far you pull in the clutch and when you get back on the throttle etc. sure you'll soon find a happy medium for you and your bike.

• Like 1

Sounds to me like your dropping the clutch, the best way to think of it is if your and off roader then you need power as quick as you can, so you can keep pulling thru rough ground, whereas on the road you need smooth progression ie let the clutch out quickly but NOT a snap drop of the lever, sort of feed it out slowly but with control, only practice will get it better I'm afraid. :jossun:

I never use the clutch going up the box, only to draw away ,,, smooth clean shifts,,,, Moto xer"s never use the clutch,,,