Cam chain tension?

kevinneill889
This post is 4296 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi all again, yet another question I will buy a manual at some point I promise.

I was wondering about the tension of my cam chain. Reason for this is I have noticed that it seems a bit noisy( the engine I mean) when I have her out a run. Now I know it could be a number of things I.e valve clearance but as I have never done this myself before I thought I would check the tension on the cam chain

I gather this does not self adjust as I can see a bolt with a lock nut on the side on the tension adjust unit so can anybody give me a run down on how to check/adjust my cam chain?

Sorry if you's lot think I'm a pain in the ass but I bought this bike with the intension on doing all my own work.

Cheers folks.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Sorry man, I've read your question, but can't offer any help.

You will need to take the head off to adjust it properly so whilst youre there you may as well check the valves as well.

Some people do it by ear but you will risk wearing out the chain guides prematurely if done too tight.

Once adjusted though it should be good for another 5000 - 10.000 miles.

You will need to take the head off to adjust it properly so whilst youre there you may as well check the valves as well.

Some people do it by ear but you will risk wearing out the chain guides prematurely if done too tight.

Once adjusted though it should be good for another 5000 - 10.000 miles.

I take it when you say you need to remove the head you mean the cam cover ?

You shouldn't need to remove the cam cover to adjust the camchain providing everything is ok but obviously you will have to to check the valve clearances.