XVS 400 vs XVS 650?

joachimgjensen
This post is 4340 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum, and new to bikes in general. I was wondering if anyone could take a min to help me out with choosing between the XVS400 and the XVS650.

I'm looking at fitting a bobber kit to it as well. I'm a car mechanic, so fitments and all are not a concern.

From what I've gathered so far, the XVS400 is uncommon. Will this be a problem when it comes to aftermarket parts? Or are the 400 and 650 pretty similar?

My main concerns are comfort and power. Which rides better in high speeds (highways)? ... Windy country roads? And also, which is quicker? 0-100 times roughly?

I've tried to do my research, which has lead me to these two bikes, but I'm having difficulties choosing between the two. Also note that I'm a learner that is limited to max 650cc.

Hope to hear your opinions! Cheers

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Well i guess this is an introduction (just now in the new people section) so i will chip in.

The dragstar are not the "best" bike in the corners, im for ever either touching down the foot pegs or my ankle on most twisty roads. 0-100 times................well your still be timing it next decade as they don't really get to 100mph.

As for Bobber parts, there are tons of aftermarket parts for the 650 you just have to look in the right places but remember what a bobber is.............a stripped down motorcycle that has every piece of useless shit taken off, just have enough stuff on it to pass the MOT and thats all you need. Also you may find your self making your own stuff from sheet metal or what not if you want that one off look and not the look of a bike that ridden through the high way hawk catalog.