78 dt-e???

rgabbert
This post is 4628 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

OK, folks, newbie here. On the site, not to bikes. I recently acquired the pictured(if I can get it posted) 78 dt-e, at least that's what the title shows. However, I don't think it's a 175, as IIRC the 175 dt's had the exhaust routed on the

right side of the bike and this has it on the left. As you can see, it's had some strange owners who had uniqe ideas of paint, etc. WIP, believe me. Anyway, anyone got an idea of what engine I have? It's been snowing and I

haven't been out to check the cylinder cc's, does have a six-speed box like a dt.

Hmm, can't find any instructions on posting a pic, some help there would be nice.

Ray

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi

No picture yet, But there was a model of DT in the UK, called a DT125 E, the bike looked a lot like the 125/175 twin shock but it had an electric start combined with the magneto, the magneto cover was larger because of this, also the exhaust ran down the right hand side of the bike. it also retained a kick start. could this be what you have?

For pictures see ths FAQ.

I'l get the link for ya,,,,,,,,,,,

Welcome to the YOC

OK, I'll start right out and claim a senior moment, folks. the snow has melted enough to take a pic and I did, and in the process found I've been wrong about the exhaust, it's correct, Hopefully 69 is old enough for a senior moment.

Now that I've got that over with, let's move on and let me hide behind another question.

I find from the web that the two colors usually found on 78 dt's are sunset red and bahama blue, I'd like to go with the bahama blue if I can find it in Krylon or Dupli-color. I'd like the bike looking good, but on a retired and fixed income level, can anyone help?

http://s1233.photobucket.com/albums/ff383/rgabbert/