1980(ish) 175cc Eduro Oil light Query

corybaldwin
This post is 4710 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

hey guys, i'm new to your little community you have here, and though i know its annoying for new guys to immediatly ask question about fixing their bikes you should know i'm from saskatchewan canada and we can only ride our bikes for a few months a year, so time is a factor.

i have an old 1980ish 175 enduro, the oil light comes on in neautral (i'm told this is a test), but once i get it into gear it will sometimes flicker on and off. the oil reserve is full. sometimes as soon as i let off the throttle it will go off... its weird because it doesn't stay on while im in gear, but rather turns off and on sometimes... i love the old girl and use it for my daily rider so i'd hate to burn out a motor over something stupid.

i'm wondering what could make this light turn on and off? wiring issue? or something to do with the oil system? should i be worried? i'm not driving it until i can get some info regarding the matter, as i opt for a cheap fix rather than a complete engine overhaul... i'm not really big on mechanics but i'm willing to learn.

also, if you could be super specific with your answers it would help me alot, like i said i'm not much of a gearhead.

please please gimme a prompt response, i wanna ride again!

CB

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

you are correct that it is a bulb check when in neutral. The fact that it comes on and off with a full tank and in gear suggests a faulty level (note the word level) sensor in the tank. this should put you at ease because unlike many bikes it is nothing to do with oil pressure, so long as you see smoke and the level in the tank falls, you can investigate at your leisure.