6th gear in a XVS 125 Dragstar

Jernej
This post is 4745 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hello to everyone!

I was riding today on my Dragstar and I began wondering if it would be possible to add one more gear to my bike. So when I wouldn't be riding uphill I would have a gear in which the bike could rest a bit at 80 - 90 km/h ... so..is it possible? I'm not that good at mechanics so I would get a mechanic to do the work.

Thanks for your answers! :)

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hello to everyone!

I was riding today on my Dragstar and I began wondering if it would be possible to add one more gear to my bike. So when I wouldn't be riding uphill I would have a gear in which the bike could rest a bit at 80 - 90 km/h ... so..is it possible? I'm not that good at mechanics so I would get a mechanic to do the work.

Thanks for your answers! :)

I would say most definitely no.

Explore the options of reducing/increasing the number of teeth on the drive sprockets, there are plenty of threads on this site on the subject. I always comes down to personal preference. I long ago settled on one tooth up on the front sprocket, because that gave me the best balance of performance for my travelling. Others have gone one tooth less for better acceleration.

I would say most definitely no.

Explore the options of reducing/increasing the number of teeth on the drive sprockets, there are plenty of threads on this site on the subject. I always comes down to personal preference. I long ago settled on one tooth up on the front sprocket, because that gave me the best balance of performance for my travelling. Others have gone one tooth less for better acceleration.