solenoid?

Pabz88
This post is 4929 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

hey all

basically my xvs 250 broke down on my way to work two days ago

i was happily riding along when i started to gradually lose power. until it got to the point where i completely lost power.

i waited around (AGGGGGGGGGGGES) for the AA and the guy said he is 95% sure that its my solenoid.

im new to this but i was under the impression that the solenoid only started the bike?

basically my question is, could the solenoid have caused me to gradually lose power and brake down?

would rather have a rought idea b4 i buy a new one

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

hey all

basically my xvs 250 broke down on my way to work two days ago

i was happily riding along when i started to gradually lose power. until it got to the point where i completely lost power.

i waited around (AGGGGGGGGGGGES) for the AA and the guy said he is 95% sure that its my solenoid.

im new to this but i was under the impression that the solenoid only started the bike?

basically my question is, could the solenoid have caused me to gradually lose power and brake down?

would rather have a rought idea b4 i buy a new one

not unless it was shorting the fuses out.

I wonder if it was a different solinoid, maybe for fuel delivery or such!

A solenoid is a simple on or off device, so if that failed your float bowls would run out of fuel and splutter to a stop, dont really know what would cause a gradual loss of power on a bike-so cant help you there :huh:

defo not a solenoid problem..... unless drewpy is right and you have a short. the fuel pump should be mechanical (like the 125)

could be a number of things.... :blink::unsure:<_<

best thing to do is check over the bike

1.check fuses and spark plugs

2.check fuel lines are clear (including carb) and there is no dirt in there