General Tune-up and service

Zircon
This post is 5083 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi Im Jordan , been on here a few months now ! but still fairly new to biking ..... and sad to say it had my fair share of problems !

I've done allot of work myself and after a whole lot of time , money and graft its finally running ( and road legal ) ! However, I think its firing too early , there's a weird noise coming from the engine ( almost like a rattling noise ) this happens stationary and in neutral so im sure its not chain or gear box etc .... also the performance is piss poor ! Its struggles on the slightest of hills ! :(

Iv finally made the decision to give her over to a mechanic to do a service/tune and to try and sort out the "pre-firing". I am new to this !

and after all im only 17 , and have done allot of work myself .... I was quoted £500 by one mechanic ! which I thought was ridiculous !

I was wondering if you guys could help me out and give me an estimate of how much this kinda work would cost .... I know some mechanics take advantage of niavity and will charge more for un-necessary work !

Thanks again guys

Zircon

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

hmmm,,? i know a girl called jordan:unsure:anyhow, .thats expensive,,you need to make freinds with someone who knows about bikes,,then ask a favour of him:) ..or those theaving twits will rape you again and again,until you bleed.

same as builders, i used to pay them to do stuff, realised how easy it was and did it myself.

I'd just nip in to a garage and say its just happened "can you have a listen", note what they say and fix it yourself. could be little end gone or something loose. 2 strokes are simple beasts so it not too hard to do.

Hi Jordan and welcome to the 'ward' (dunno if you did an intro before ?)