dragstar 125 lost key/how to remove ignition barrel

AlexRowe
This post is 5025 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi all,

i'm a complete noob to biking so forgive me if this sounds dumb. I recently bought a yamaha dragstar 125 and (rather stupidly) managed to loose the only key i had. Unfortunately i do not have the key number so cannot just order a new one. I spoke to a locksmith who said he could make me a new one for £25 if i brought him the ignition barrel. the question is, how do i remove the ignition barrel? there seems to be some sort of plastic panel which the barrel pokes out of, i can't for the life of me work out how to get this panel off and i'd really rather not have to cut it off.

thanks,

Alex

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi all,

i'm a complete noob to biking so forgive me if this sounds dumb. I recently bought a yamaha dragstar 125 and (rather stupidly) managed to loose the only key i had. Unfortunately i do not have the key number so cannot just order a new one. I spoke to a locksmith who said he could make me a new one for £25 if i brought him the ignition barrel. the question is, how do i remove the ignition barrel? there seems to be some sort of plastic panel which the barrel pokes out of, i can't for the life of me work out how to get this panel off and i'd really rather not have to cut it off.

thanks,

Alex

Howdy Alex, welcome to the YOC B)

Cant help ya with your problem,,,,,,id need to see it with my own eyes. BUT

Can you not call one of them (call out lock smiths), mobile locksmith. He could come to you and mabe he wouldnt need the barrel off at all.......Just a thaught !