TDR125 Carb

Bindason
This post is 5026 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi guys

I bought A tdr125 about 7 months ago as a non runner, i removed the carb and after 3 or 4 times cleaning it trough it finally fired up.

It ran fine for 5 months and i hardly did anything to it, then one day the 2 stroke pump stopped working and i came to a abrupt stop, yep you guessed it the piston picked up in the bore and i had to strip it down and get the head skimmed, new piston and rings (bearing, gaskets etc...)

This was the first time i have ever stipped a bike apart ( I am a car mechanic though)but thought well whilst i am doing the top end i might as well clean up the bottom end, and replace a few gaskets and new nuts and bolts throughout.

I have it all back together now but it wont start, i have good compression (135) and a good spark, so i am guessing maybe my carb is knackered. I have tried pouring a little fuel into the engine (through the spark plug hole) it almost fires but just doesn't want to fire up. I have also tried bump starting it, this again nearly started but still wont fire up.

Anyone got any sugestions as to what i can try next?

I am guessing maybe the carb is completely knackered, as the air filter was full of crap and half the padding(foam) had come off it and obviously been sucked into the carb. Would just rejetting it get me out of trouble? or should i just swallow it and get a new carb??

If so any good plavces to pick up a new/pattern part carb?

Its a PHBH28vs carb.

Thanks in advance

Mike

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi CDB

The bike is on a 96 plate.

I didn't mention but I made a huge school boy error when i fitted the lower barrel gasket and it ripped and leaked coolant into the crank, I drained what I thought was all of the water out and fitted a new gasket.