Thundercat Engine help!

JasonYZF
This post is 5189 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi guys,

Firstly I'm new to the site so let me start by being polite and saying "Hello". Been meaning to join for ages but sods law the bikes gone wrong and I need help so as good a time as any.

In short, I need a decent 2nd hand Thundercat engine.

I've only had my Yamaha YZF-600R Thundercat for 3 and a bit months and the bloody things gone wrong. I'm pretty new to biking and didn't really know what to look out for as this is my first "biggish bike". Turns out after buying that I was getting an occasional neutral and having difficulty changing from 1st to 2nd on WOR.

Second gear has now started to slip and on research this is a sure sign the transmission is failing and is a very common issue. I'm pretty hands on , But doing the tranny myself is far too much work as you have to remove the engine, split the head and basically disassemble the whole engine to get to it. I'm therefore looking at just swapping the engine as this seems far easy.

Now the problem is where do I get one from?? I'm dubious about using E-bay for something so important. And the only breakers I've approached and researched turned out to be cowboys. I want to buy from someone or somewhere reliable so am turning to like minded people on the forum for help.

If anyone could offer me any help or advice please let me know as it would be a great help. Ilive in Bagshot, Surrey,UK :)

Wish me luck :)

Jason

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Unlucky, if you had dived in before you bought it......

Hindsight eh :rolleyes: ?

Anyway let me be the first to welcome you to the nutho.. :blink: . forum ;) .