Yamaha DT125R

This post is 5205 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

I am a complete mechanical novice, and have taken ownership over a very neglected DT125R, and have sought, and received help here, when I first took the bike over, under the title of "help needed", about how to begin recovering it to a road worthy state.

I am now at the stage of re-fitting the carburettor I have cleaned, and after further advice,I have also replaced the reeds in the reed block.

Firstly, whilst using the torque wrench, set to 1.0 for the reed block assembly bolts, as instructed in the manual, one of the bolts sheared off in the housing, and now I am worried that if I ever have to remove the reed block housing again, I am only going to have a very difficult time. Have I got to remove, somehow, the snapped bolt now? as the reed block housing feels very secure, can anyone explain why it snapped, and the others never, and offer any advice/tips of what I should do?

Secondly, there was a small piece of pipe already snapped off on the R/H/Side of the carburettor, above the port where the fuel pipe connects, and slightly behind the oil warmer pipe port, and there was no evidence of what it should be connecting?, and I can not, (probably due to gross ignorance) find in the manual what the port is? the snapped pipe is connected to, and what its role is in the carburettor operation.

file:///C:/Users/Robbie/Pictures/Motorbikes/Carb.jpg

(If you highlight this file address, then right click on it, scroll down to Robbie/Pictures/Motorbike, then left click, it will open a picture I have taken, and hopefully will make things a lot clearer, what I am trying to explain)

I would be most grateful for any assistance, as even though greatly frustrated by the massive learning curve I am on, I am still enjoying myself, and the bike is looking 100% better already!