Help PLEASE bike is dying :(

bertbuckie
This post is 5277 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi there.....yet again Im in need of help :(

I took my DTr 50 supermotard out yesterday and the oil light was on. I looked in the 2-stroke mix tank tand there was plenty, and it seemed to go down after Id used the bike.

She felt VERY slow, ( even slower than normal - struggling to hit 30mph on the flats and wont even go over 30 down hill - she used to go 50mph down hill :( ) and couldnt even pull me up small hills. I took out the plug which was black and cleaned it up but it made no difference so I have ordered an ngk iridium one.

I also took the exhaust silencer apart and cleaned it and the same with the air filter but still made no difference :(

Im new to bike servicing ect but I am unsure about the oil light ( which does go off when shes actually moving )because theres no sump ect in a 2 stroke as far as im awair....

Please someone give me some pointers....Im afraid she`s going to die or I will do more damage by running her :(

.... on the plus side as I rode along at 20ish mph lots of real bikers waved and about 5 actually stopped for a chat with me :) - I was shocked they didnt take the piss of my 50 either :)

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

I forgot to say..... I presumed the oil light comming on at startup was normal if the bike had sat a week or so because it might take a few mins to ger the oil through the system?

anyhow...better go look busy Im supposed to be working lol

Bert

Hi Bert. The oil light on these 2 stroke bikes works simply from a level switch in the oil tank and they light up when the level is low.