Need help with neighbor's '81 XS400SH

2wheel newbie
This post is 5272 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

My neighbor recently bought a 1981 xs400SH, it was running when he bought it. One morning it wouldn't start, so he asked me for help, I'm a car mechanic. I've never worked on a motorbike before, but on a 30year old carb'ed Yamaha, how hard could it be? :eusa_doh:

I grabbed my battery jump pack and got it started. He took it for a quick spin up and doun the street, he came back pushing it and when it went over the curb, gasoline poured out the air filter boxes.

I grabbed a drain pan and drainded the tank, I told him that the carb floats were probably stuck wide open. I told him I could easily fix that. I took the carbs off the bike, took them inside, to work on, removed the float bowls, the floats and the float needles. Both needles had rips in the rubber tips.

I stoped by the library for a book on Yamaha XS bikes to supplement the Haynes manual that came with the bike, and went to the bike shop for new needdles and seats ($90 :o ). I put them in, adjusted the float level to 32mm like the books said, put it back to gether with new gaskets. Before I put the carb back I fliped the rubber boot/carb holder thingies so that the vacuum ports pointed up (previous owner replaced them w/o gaskets when he replaced the carb with another one). I reconnected everything, set the fuel tap to PRI, pulled out the choke all the way, started it up. B) Then it stalled when I put it in 1st choke position and gave it even a little bit of throttle. Wouldn't fire at all with the choke all the way in