Battery

martiniman
This post is 5146 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi all, this is prob a FAQ and already been discussed in depth. As i have said i am new to biking, i flattened my battery yesterday (on my xvs 125) I only left the head light on for about 20 mins, anyway i read up a bit on the net about jumping/ charging batteries i decided to phone the RAC out as i read so much about how if its a gel battery i would damage it by jumping it, and that you need special chargers for bikes etc bla bla bla. So anyway the RAC bloke came and just jumped it off his van no probs! Lesson learned for next time. So my first question, is it normal to flatten a battery after 20 mins? (my mate says it it) Second another mate says i should invest in an oximiser for about £20 he also said it will condition the battery when the bikes parked up without one ya battery will need replacing every year. does this sound about right? Third it looks like the battery on my bike is fairly deep inside the frame, is it a big job changing it?

Cheers

Martiniman

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Generally a battery that is run every day for over 20 minutes will last ages. If you start the bike once a week for 10 minutes, your battery will be knackered before long - so it depends on what you do with it, as to how long it will last.

Batteries on small bikes are normally small also (in power capacity) so it depends on the capacity of yuor battery as to how long it will last under load.

No help this really is it?