I'm exhausted

DrTea
This post is 5291 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi everyone, newbie here.

I own a 'Y' (2001) plate Dragstar 650 classic. I’ve owned the bike for 5 years - and love it.

I’m not the jealous type, however I do get exhaust envy.

I’ve trawled the interweb trying to find out what my options are on upgrading the exhaust, but I’m still not clear on what road legal options are available to me. I don’t have the inclination to swap the exhaust system every time I’m due an MOT and I’m not interested in trying to make the bike sound like a Sopwith Camel - I like my neighbours. I would like a solution that is a bit more ‘throaty’. Is drilling out the OEM exhaust my best option or is there an off-the-shelf solution that’s road legal and will give me the sound I’m looking for?

Many thanks for any advice given.

Dougie

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hello Dougie,

Welcome to the forum.

You've got a few options available, but let me dispell a common myth at this point. When you take your cruiser in for an MOT, the noise is tested only by the tester's ear, so unless the exhaust has physically been embossed with 'Not For Road Use', it's often passed, albeit it little bit more fruity in the noise department (which is expected for a cruiser, by the way), hence it's not always necessary for you to change the pipes back to legal ones when you need to MOT it.

That said, you don't want a set of exhausts that are so loud, your ears bleed.