Aerox YQ50 Cooling sytem

RMS
This post is 4271 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi

I am new to this forumn

My son have bought a Aerox YQ50 Scooter and we are having problems with the cooling system

( I am not experienced with liquid cooled bikes)

We have a leak from the water pump into the casing behind I have a W/P repair kit on its way.

Hopfully the repair will fix the leak. I have also noticed that there is a "Thermo Switch" coming out

of the head which is disconnected. When it is reconnected the red warning light (no gauge) comes on

even when cold.

A What does the switch do? does it just indicate when the engine is hot or does it switch on the water pump?

B Does the water pump work all the time or at a set temp?

C Is it likley the switch is duff

D Is there a Thermostat Do I need to take the head off to get to it Presumably it opens up at a set temp

to allow full flow of water

Any Help whould be of great help in stopping we look a fool to my 16 year old Son

Regards Richard

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.
Guest MaD.VeZ

Hi

I am new to this forumn

My son have bought a Aerox YQ50 Scooter and we are having problems with the cooling system

( I am not experienced with liquid cooled bikes)

We have a leak from the water pump into the casing behind I have a W/P repair kit on its way.

Hopfully the repair will fix the leak. I have also noticed that there is a "Thermo Switch" coming out

of the head which is disconnected. When it is reconnected the red warning light (no gauge) comes on

even when cold.

A What does the switch do? does it just indicate when the engine is hot or does it switch on the water pump?

B Does the water pump work all the time or at a set temp?

C Is it likley the switch is duff

D Is there a Thermostat Do I need to take the head off to get to it Presumably it opens up at a set temp