Rev counter sweep on my 2001 R1

yama-hond-uki77
This post is 5643 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi all you yamaha nuts!

im new to these sport machines, just chopped in my Busa for a 2001 R1 and i'm 'king stoked with it! only thing is the custom pipes somone fitted meant the exup valve was disconnected (electrically and mechanically)

the bike runs fine but the fricking rev counter keeps dancing to get my attention!

does anyone know how to fool the ecu into thinking the servo is still there and display the correct Rpm?

cheers folks!!! :rolleyes:

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

The EXUP should remain connected electronically with the valve's moving parts removed. This should then be tied up and taped over to keep it clean and secure.

Without the electrical connections in place, the rev counter will always go haywire.

I personally will not remove an EXUP valve for a customer - it always leads to problems IME. If they want to remove it prior to the bike arriving in my workshop then fine but I will not condone the practise and I certainly will not guarantee that they will not encounter running problems.

The EXUP should remain connected electronically with the valve's moving parts removed. This should then be tied up and taped over to keep it clean and secure.

Without the electrical connections in place, the rev counter will always go haywire.

I personally will not remove an EXUP valve for a customer - it always leads to problems IME. If they want to remove it prior to the bike arriving in my workshop then fine but I will not condone the practise and I certainly will not guarantee that they will not encounter running problems.

great thanks!

so basically if i get a spare servo and connect electronically ONLY the rev counter should behave?

does anyone have a spare exup servo knocking about? let me know