maxum 650 issue

symonds
This post is 5823 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

i recently bought a 82 maxum 650 in real good shape for $50, guy needed money. It cam with 2 catches one not so bad it needs a rear tire. the other issue i need help with. The PO said he was driving it home from work and it suddenly started smoking and blowing oil from somewhere,wasn't sure where. i added oil and it fired right up and runs and sounds fine with no smoke or leaks. i noticed there in no air filter element and the carb boots are a lil dry rotted? any help would be great im an ASE car tech but i'll admit with bikes i have alot to learn

thanks and sorry for the long post

Derrick

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

i recently bought a 82 maxum 650 in real good shape for $50, guy needed money. It cam with 2 catches one not so bad it needs a rear tire. the other issue i need help with. The PO said he was driving it home from work and it suddenly started smoking and blowing oil from somewhere,wasn't sure where. i added oil and it fired right up and runs and sounds fine with no smoke or leaks. i noticed there in no air filter element and the carb boots are a lil dry rotted? any help would be great im an ASE car tech but i'll admit with bikes i have alot to learn

thanks and sorry for the long post

Derrick

it was finally warm enough to to get engine warm without being able to ride it. once it got a lil heat in the motor blue smoke came out of both pipes so i am suspecting rings are bad. how hard are these engines to rebuild the topend on? i have rebuild many car engines but never a bike. can i have it bored over and buy oversized pistons like you would fo a car engine? sorry for the stupid questions. o one more thing where is a good place to get a good manual for this bike.

thanks

Derrick