SR125 Timing chain problems

Derek Herbert
This post is 5666 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi, I am new to Yamaha owners club and I have just picked up a 97 SR125 (24k on clock) and the engine is a little noisy. I adjusted the tappets which took care of part of the noise and the engine started to sound better. I then adjusted the timing chain tensioner by screwing in the adjuster until the adjuster piston is flush with the top of the adjuster nut (as per mister Haynes).

Q1. Should I have adjusted the timing chain first then the tappets?

Q2. The problem is that the adjuster nut had to be screwed in so far that there are not enough threads for the adjuster cap to fit onto (normally the adjuster nut would have 4 or 5 threads showing to fit the cap onto). This probably means the timing chain has stretched or the timing chain guides are worn (maybe a mixture of both) does the chain and follower require a change at set intervals?

Q3. Is there an easy way to change the chain and guides as it looks like I need to do a major strip just to remove the chain guides?

Q4. I have found the timing chain easily enough on-line but I am having a great deal of trouble getting the timing chain followers (one each side of Exhaust and Intake). Does anybody know where I can get a hold of the followers on-line?

Loads of questions but I really really love this little bike and want to give it a some TLC and get it sounding as it should. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hello and welcome DereK