Yamaha yzf750 - Thunderace engine swap?

grant74
This post is 4577 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi there guys (and gals, of course!)

I'm a newbie to this Yamaha forum and lovin it already! - Wondered if I can ask my fellow Yam owners for some help? I have a 96 (p) Yamaha YZF750R (uk bike) and I love it - just the right height & everything for me - I want more power but can bear to part with the bike and dont really wanna spend fortunes on tuning for very small bhp gains. I've heard that a Thunderace 1000 engine will go "straight in"? I appreciate that this may be mega old news for most of u guys and prob be asked 100 times before - but has anyone actually done this mod? What about things like the following :

Wiring loom

Exhaust manifold

cooling system

Airbox (enough clearance underneath & can u use standard 750 airbox?)

chain / sprocket alignment?

Any frame mods?

can u use standard 750 ecu?

I would love it if you guys can help me out with some sure-footed info on this swap - cos if it is a nice easy swap-over then I'll go for it rather than spending the cash on dynojetting and rolling road tuning etc. I know it'd be quicker / easier to buy a Thunderace but I would really rather keep my beloved 750R. Cheers Eveybody! Stay safe out there!

Grant.

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

It won`t fit straight in, the Ace engine is 10mm higher, so you need either to have the frame spars cut off and rewelded in the right position (easiest way), or make brackets, but then you need to start shaving metal off the head to allow for the thickness of the brackets to allow the sprockets to line up.

The standard Ace airbox won`t fit under the tank (10mm higher) so you`ll need to either mount the tank higher or fit K&N`s or similar, then probably a bit of dyno time to get it set up right.