newbie with XS 400 Special - won't start

gdarrell
This post is 5428 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hi,

I just picked up a 1980 XS400 special that was sitting under a tree for about 2 years. Prior owner said it was running when he parked it, but poorly due to carbs. This is my first attempt at a restoration. I don't mind getting my hands dirty, and for $200 bucks, I thought how bad can it be??

Before I spent too much time and money, I wanted to make sure the motor would run. I drained and cleaned the tank and pulled the carbs. Well, carbs were pretty nasty. Took a really good chemical soak, but they look a lot better now.

I have new plugs installed and the old ones were carboned up some, but not rusty. Shined a light inside and didn't see any rust and valves go up and down when I turned it over.

My problem is that when I hook it up to battery, the motor will turn about 1 revolution and then the starter kicks out. I jumped across the starter solenoid with a screwdriver to make sure it wasn't the solenoid. Got same response. I have tried kicking it, but only get about what seems to be one turn out of it. Seems to have a good bit of compression. Motor also seems to turn freely - no noises or grinding, etc.

Help please!! Not sure where to start first on replacing parts. My first guess would be the starter, but I saw a part on ebay for a starter clutch. No idea what that is, but need some expert help and suggestions on how to logically trouble shoot and/or test parts before replacement.

I would post a pic if I can figure out how :-)

thanks in advance..

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Can you start it up via the kickstart?