Newbie with a Vintage DT1CM Question

DT1CM
This post is 5771 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Greetings, all. I'm another newbie here with a few vintage motocrossers. I look forward to meeting you other vintage enthusiasts as time goes on, and to be of some assistance when I can. I recently picked up a 1970 DT1CM motocrosser that just came out of a barn here in Virginia. Its rough--I mean really rough. The story is that the old farmer just pushed the bike into the barn when his kids left home. Everything is original, but the chrome is rusty, and all the rubber is dry rotted. It must have been sitting for more than a decade. The motor has decent compression though, and now it has spark.

But to my point: Its got a strange carb manifold on it that I've never seen before. Its a GEM, with which I am somewhat familiar from my teen years in the late 60s and early 70s. This manifold has replaced the stock one and is welded to the barrel. The weld was professionally done. It still sports the original 30mm carb. This manifold has an arm that extends around the left side of the carb, and has a series of three small holes in it. There is also a threaded brass fitting on the left side of the manifold between the carb and the barrel. It appears to me now that the hole goes back about 3/4" and dead-ends, but that doesn't make any sense. I may find after removing the head, that there is a small hole in the cylinder wall to introcuce fuel??

Has anyone seen one of these manifolds? Ican probably plug the hole and run it that way, but someone went to a lot of trouble to install this thing, and it probably wasn't cheap to begin with. Thanks in advance for any help I get with this.

Bill in VA

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.