Yamaha XVS125 Dragstar Problems

Joreysdad
This post is 5778 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hello to all, newbie here with a little problem (I hope)

Have just purchased a Dragstar XVS125 and I'm having problems with the clutch.

I'm new to biking so as the bike was in Manchester and I live in Stafford I fetched in on a trailer, It's my first bike and I don't fancy a ride like that straight off.

All was fine with paperwork etc, numbers matched up etc etc, happy with the bike and bought it home.

Problem is that when I treid to put it into gear it stalled, the guy selling it said don't pull the clutch in so hard and it's fine. He started, put it into gear and rode it down to the trailer. No worries I thought, it's down to me.

Anyhoo, get it home this morning and I can't get it into gear, or i can but there is definately something wrong. I'll try to explain as best i can.

If i put it into gear with clutch pulled in fully it stalls, unless i adjust the cable to it's maximum tightest at the handle and give it a little revs in which case it goes in but when you release you don't move :)

I've fiddled with it in and out and can get to a point where with a little revs and the clutch very slightly pulled in i can get into gear, all be it with a jolt, pull it in all the way i can change gear as if clutch is working, let it out and the bike moves but the difference between clutch on and off is literally millimetres and is right at the end of free play.

My guess is the clutch is knackered and he's be ramming it in. Any other suggestions before I get a mechanic in would be appreciated :)

Oh and if you know a good mobile mechanic in the rugeley area that would be ace :)

Many Thanks in advance

Chris Evans

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.