From a Newbie - Few questions about the 350 R5

mainekz
This post is 5787 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Afternoon

Just signed up hoping you guys can help me with some advice about the R5 model.

I'm looking at a 72 R5C which looks like a pretty original and straight bike but the owner tells me it's has a reed valve conversion (from the later RD I guess).

Now I know my way round old Suzuki oil burners OK, but I'm new to the 70s Yams so I'd like to hear any opinions on this conversion - good thing? bad thing? doesn't matter thing?

Also any general comments tips and hints on what to look for with an R5 would be welcome.

Cheers - MaineKZ

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

As far as the reed conversion, I have read that it improves performance, especially at the lower revs.

From a general point on this two stroke, I've haven't heard/read much in the negative side. It has the oil pump that injects oil into the gas mixture and I read that when just idling, the pump doesn't run. This didn't seem to be a problem but I suppose it could be if it were to sit idling for a long time.

As far as the reed conversion, I have read that it improves performance, especially at the lower revs.

From a general point on this two stroke, I've haven't heard/read much in the negative side. It has the oil pump that injects oil into the gas mixture and I read that when just idling, the pump doesn't run. This didn't seem to be a problem but I suppose it could be if it were to sit idling for a long time.

Cant see anything wrong with fitting a reed valve so would say 'good thing'