High Idling?

newguy76
This post is 5800 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hey guys,

I'm back with a new question...

After trying to sell this bike and having it not start after 2 million kicks, I decided to remove the carburetor and clean it out. I didn't do anything special, just got rid of any gunk and polished it up.

I put it back on the bike and made sure everything was tightened up.

I then gave it one good kick and HOLY MACKEREL!!!! It turned on but that little sucker was at RPM 4000 and LOUD!

Not like an obnoxious loud, but a totally powerful loud.

I don't know anything about bikes and I pretty much used common sense to do this project. (I'm sort of proud of me), but I know that there is too much power here.

Any tips?

Also, I was thinking about trying to get the electric starter to work, but alas...I am a novice. :blink:

motorcycle%20002.jpg

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi there,

Chances are that it is something pretty basic that has gone wrong !

1 check the throttle cable to make sure it is sitting in the top of the carb properly and any other housings.

2 make sure you havn't screwed the throttle stop screws in to far on the side of the carbs

3 check to make sure that the throttle slides are not stuck half way up the carb body

4 check that there are no air leaks between the carb and the cylinder head ( carbs are sitting properly in the rubbers)

Chances are that it is one of the above that is causing your problem

Hi there,

Chances are that it is something pretty basic that has gone wrong !

1 check the throttle cable to make sure it is sitting in the top of the carb properly and any other housings.

2 make sure you havn't screwed the throttle stop screws in to far on the side of the carbs

3 check to make sure that the throttle slides are not stuck half way up the carb body