My 1978 Yamaha XS400

Jonesy_10
This post is 5835 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hey everyone. Just thought I'd share my project. I'm 16 years old, and picked this up as a first bike for $150. It's come a long way since these pictures from the spring.

Picture006.jpg

Picture008.jpg

The bike wouldnt start when I got it. I had the carbs apart, picked up some carb kits for it. Had to play around with the float levels alot. We ran into one problem, one of the floats had a small hole in it, and was therefore full of gas, so the carb kept flooding. I've soldered it shut, but I don't think it'll hold up for too long. Any ideas on where to get a new float for this bike?

Next, I got a new master cylinder kit, got the front brake bled, and it works fine. The rear brake is a different story, as the line is plugged.

I think the clutch is worn out in it, it doesnt make contact until the clutch is nearly all the way out. I'm also painting the bike, a buddy of mine is amazing at spraying, so he's doing it for me. Basically the only thing I need to do to put it on the road, is get some insurance. Anyone know of a place in Ontario that does cheap insurance for teens?

I'll get some more photos once I get it painted. Let me know what you think!

• 2 weeks later...
Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Just a quick update on the bike.

I just replaced the headset bearings, as well as the fork seals. Now the bike needs 2 carb floats, as well as a front tyre.

Let me know what you think.

IMG_0860.jpg

IMG_0862.jpg

looking good, keep at it and you'll soon have a finished bike.

watch out you don't over polish anything as it will stand out and the next thing you know the bikes all stripped down coz that shiny part didn't look right on its own!!! :babyha:

Looking good.

I have the same bike, bought it in 1989 when I was 15... I still have it.