New member in Utah from elsewhere

This post is 2160 days old and we'd rather you create a new post instead of adding to this one. You can't reply in this post.

Hey I'm Axel. 

I'm originally from Germany and moved here a few years ago. I'm a hobby mechanic but I am starting college classes for mechanical engineering so hopefully my mechanical skills will improve.

My current choice for tinkering is a 1975 DT175. This was my budget but but it's been a good get around town bike. It has an aftermarket clark tank and the seat is torn up so I decided I'd start changing it to my liking. Other than cosmetic upgrades I am trying to work on the electrical system (6V ro 12v) to allow other aftermarket parts to work with it. Any tips are welcome!!

When it comes to carbureted bikes my greatest weakness is tuning them. Where I live I'm usually between 4k and 6k feet in elevation so the stock netting is a no go and the difference between summer and winter temps is high. I've only been at it for about a year so hopefully I'll catch on. Although as part of the 12v upgrade I plan to cheat and install an AFR gauge and sensor. As I use that to tune I might learn better what the symptoms are because I'll have a visual real time aid. 

Anyway long story short, although I've worked a lot on an 80s fuel injected car I'm a newbie to carbs and bikes.

Ask away with any questions

Do you want an ad-free experience? Join today and help support the Yamaha Owners Club.

Hi Axel, welcome to the forum. Brill intro.

The Workshop section might be of interest to you and if you have any input I'm sure it will be welcomed there.

Again, welcome to the forum.

Mike

:welcome: Axel
can't get beverly hills cop theme out of my head now ?

• Haha 1

5 minutes ago, drewpy said:

I must be getting old Drewps, can't remember Beverly hills cops but I can remember Beverly hillbillies. "The Clampetts"

• Like 1